: ?>

Call for Papers

Virtual Posters & Demos

The virtual posters session is a forum for presentation and discussion of work in progress, in initial or intermediate stage of development, and thus with no solid results yet, though relevant to the HCI field and the event. The demo's session consists of an exhibition of digital interactive systems of various kinds, whether deployed or under development, with HCI relevance and related (but not restricted) to: new design solutions; digital art installations; new graphic and interaction styles; smart environments; Internet of Things solutions, among others. For both categories (posters and demos), we welcome submissions from authors who wish to receive constructive feedback from active members from the Brazilian HCI community.


Posters and demos submissions must be anonymous, must not exceed 2 pages in length and must adhere to the ACM SIGCHI papers (2015) template. Submissions must be made electronically, in PDF format, using the JEMS System.

Submissions should contain:

  • State the contribution and originality of your work clearly and explicitly: What is the problem? How does your approach help? Why is it better than other available approaches?
  • Focus on the contribution of your work rather than the background, including just enough background to make clear how your work differs from significant prior research.
  • Posters and demos abstracts may be chosen based on either the significance of the problem or the originality of your approach.

Demos, besides the items listed above, should contain:

  • Description of the system and its scientific and/or technological contribution, including impacts in human-computer interaction and society;
  • On a separate page, describe information for operation of the demonstration, such as necessary space, devices used, interaction with the public etc.


At least one of the authors of accepted posters or demos must register to IHC 2018 and present his/her work at a collective and interactive exhibition session. Virtual posters and demos will be presented in video format in a technical session for discussion with participants. The demos will also be presented to the participants in a space designated by the organization of the event. Information about procedures, recommendations and available resources will be sent later on to the authors.

Important Dates
  • Submission of proposals: July 09, 2018 June 25, 2018
  • Notification: August 13, 2018 July 23, 20182
  • Guidelines for production of videos: August 27 - September 14, 2018
  • IHC 2018: October 22-26, 2018
  • Ingrid Monteiro (UFC) – ingrid@ufc.br
  • Rodrigo Santos (UNIRIO) – rps@uniriotec.br
Review Committee
  • Alberto Castro (UFAM)
  • Alberto Raposo (PUC-Rio)
  • Alessandro Assis (Nuance Communications)
  • Alex Gomes (UFPE)
  • Amanda Melo (Unipampa)
  • Ana Claudia Oliveira (FATEC)
  • André da Silva (IFSP)
  • Andre Freire (UFLA)
  • Anna Beatriz Marques (UFC)
  • Avanilde Kemczinski (UDESC)
  • Bruno Santana (UFRN)
  • Cecilia Peixoto (IPEP)
  • Celmar Guimarães da Silva (UNICAMP)
  • Celso Alberto Saibel Santos (UFES)
  • Cesar Collazos (Universidad del Cauca, Colombia)
  • Clarisse de Souza (PUC-Rio)
  • Claudia Cappelli (UNIRIO)
  • Cristian Rusu (Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Valparaiso, Chile)
  • Cristiano Maciel (UFMT)
  • Davi Viana (UFMA)
  • Ecivaldo Matos (UFBA)
  • Eduardo Tanaka (Eldorado Research Institute)
  • Emanuel Coutinho (UFC)
  • Emerson Paraiso (PUCPR)
  • Evandro Miletto (IFRS)
  • Fábio Basso (Unipampa)
  • Fernanda Lima (UnB)
  • Flávio Silva (USP)
  • Frederick van Amstel (PUCPR)
  • Heitor Costa (UFLA)
  • Igor Steinmacher (UTFPR)
  • Igor Wiese (UTFPR)
  • Ingrid Monteiro (UFC)
  • Isabela Gasparini (UDESC)
  • João Luiz Bernardes Júnior (USP)
  • Jonice Oliveira (UFRJ)
  • José Viterbo (UFF)
  • Luciana Salgado (UFF)
  • Luis Rivero (UFAM)
  • Luiz Afonso (3Elos)
  • Marcelle Mota (UFPA)
  • Marcelo Morandini (USP)
  • Marcos Seruffo (UFPA)
  • Maria Augusta Netto Nunes (UFS)
  • Marilia Mendes (UFC)
  • Natasha Valentim (UFPR)
  • Nayat Sanchez-Pi (UERJ)
  • Raquel Pillat (UFRJ)
  • Ricardo Caceffo (UNICAMP)
  • Rodrigo Santos (UNIRIO)
  • Simone Barbosa (PUC-Rio)
  • Taciana Pontual Falcão (UFPE)
  • Tatiana Tavares (UFPel)
  • Teresa Chambel (University of Lisbon, Portugal)
  • Thais Castro (UFAM)
  • Tiago da Silva (UNIFESP)
  • Vagner Santana (IBM Research)
  • Valdemar Graciano Neto (UFG)
  • Valéria Martins (UPM)
  • Vinicius Pereira (UFMT)